Google

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Weekly Ramble

Not much on my mind, just the usual. Wondering when the mismanagement will stop. I won't say much on the treatment of the traveling teams during the Bamburi Rugby Super Series. Just that more due diligence should be done and there should be ways to make sponsors accountable for their promises or actions, say in the way of a performance bond, held with a bank and encashed only when breach is committed by one of the parties, just a thought.

This week the media blitz for the Safaricom Sevens begins and ironic for two things. First, that the filming of the ads was done immediately the pitch was "declared closed for appraisal" and suffice to say the amount of damage done in the three days of filming was quite considerable. Secondly, it got me looking around for more information on the sevens and there it became interesting. And I wondered, what benefits a man if he gains the whole world and loses his soul (sic)? (Ruggerbug's the poet, not me).

From this



To this?I had a feeling that this would happen, but not to this extent. A logo/brand built over 14 years is lost in a flash, for the sake of money. And when I started thinking about money, I came to notice something else. The Bamburi Rugby Super Series site is redirecting to a subdomain on the main KRFU site (from www.rugbysuperseries.com to www.superseries.kenyarfu.com). Suddenly some sanity and and attempt to take control of resources that should belong to the union. I also inadvertently decided to visit http://safaricomsevens.com and lo and behold, a site loaded. Nothing to do with the sevens, but a site all the same. And I became curious. Do some people have more information than we do? I checked www.safaricomsevens.co.ke. This now redirects to www.safarisevens.com. So what is happening here? A whole load of confusion and no actual direction. For those who know how, please check the registrants for all the above websites and you will see people trying to find ways to worm themselves into the system and perhaps benefit from being the owners of various instruments that I believe should be the sole preserve of the Union, its trustees or the clubs (the registration dates also tell a tale and if you're keen enough, the registrant is different but the server hosting the domain is the same!)

PS: I've been on their side too much today. With all the media blitz already going on by Safaricom, there is an ominous silence emanating from the sole source of all media information from the official office!

0 Comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails